Music Takes Five


I was a very young boy when I heard this strange music coming from the old radio. I felt as if an invisible. magical force had dug its hook into me and made my feet dance to a new rhythm. Thus began my appreciation of modern jazz and the tune responsible was the famous “Take Five” by the Dave Brubeck Quartet.

Dave Brubeck passed away on the 5th of December on the eve of what would have been his 92nd birthday. He was one of the great jazz composers and pianist. He contributed greatly to the evolution of jazz and was once designated as a “living legend” buy the US Library of Congress. Many more capable than I have already written articles and posts in honor of this great man. Thus I will just end this post with two of the iconic pieces closely identified with Dave Brubeck.

Ladies and gentlemen, Mr. Brubeck is taking five……. music will resume in heaven. God bless Dave Brubeck.

12 thoughts on “Music Takes Five”

  1. It’s been my great fortune to have twice met Dave Brubeck. The last time was about ten years ago when he and his two sons performed at the American Jazz Series of the University of North Florida. During the day they held a master class in one of the music classrooms. The place was standing room only but I found the last seat in the room, on a drum case right next to the maestro. For the next hour I got to look over his shoulder and feel the goosebumps time and again. Like you, Take Five opened a whole new world to me. Rest in peace Dave. Gone but not forgotten.

Leave a Reply

