Science – A Funny Old Thing


In the little spiel that I have “About Me” on the sidebar, I mention that I am a scientist.  Now some of you career skeptics have in the past questioned my scientific credentials.  How shocking! But at any rate, I have had to dazzle readers from time to time with my scientific knowledge just so as to dispel these awful allegations.  I assure you that I am a scientist; an absent-minded mad scientist in fact!

However, I realise that it has been sometime since my last scientific post.  So here it is.  I present to you the newly discovered element as reported on the internet………

 

Element ah

 

 

 

Ah!  The Element of Surprise is evidence that science can be a funny old thing and that most scientific discoveries involve the element of surprise.

 

As Isaac Asimov  once quipped, “The most exciting phrase to hear in science, the one that heralds new discoveries, is not “Eureka” but “That’s funny…””.

 

6 thoughts on “Science – A Funny Old Thing”

  1. HMPH I read just yesterday that scientists have no sense of humor. either you are a nutty professor or go against the grain. i will choose the latter for i may have to stew the former.

  2. Mark,
    I do think that many modern scientists really do not have a sense of humor. They are too busy trying to get their fortune making patents. I am more of the old school where science was about the adventure of discovery and the journey was meant to be fun.

Leave a Reply

