Older


Severino Baraldi's Henry Hudson (Original 1978)
“You load sixteen tons, what do you get?
Another day older and deeper in debt.
Saint Peter, don’t you call me, ’cause I can’t go;
I owe my soul to the company store.”
lyrics from the song “Sixteen Tons“-

Well,  I don’t owe my soul to the company store no more. No more.  I am free. After 15 frantic years, free to taste the sweetness of living without datelines! Free to starve to death from unemployment!  How exciting!

But sadly, it’s a case of another year older and deeper in debt.  Yup, it’s that day in the year that another candle is placed on the already straining cake.

Please forgive me if I choose to do something other than slaving over a proper post on this day especially if that something involves my wife and a restaurant.

So, I just quickly cobbled the following pseudo-post;

Sept 13th……

…..is National Peanut Day;

…..is National Celiac Awareness Day and

…..is Scooby Doo‘s Birthday.

Some other things which I like which happened on Sept. 13th……

1609 –  Henry Hudson discovers Hudson River (love explorers)

1759 –  Wolfe (British) defeats Montcalm (French) at the Battle of the Plains of Abraham (a remarkable military adventure in the New World during the romantic era of the Seven Year’s War).

2007- The Declaration of Rights of Indigenous Peoples was adopted by the UN Assembly.

17 thoughts on “Older”

  1. Well Happy Birthday! You share a birthday with one of my good friends from way back. I hope you enjoyed your great dinner out and may you have a spectacular year!

  2. Happy Birthday, LGS!

    The Battle of the Plains of Abraham, as you probably know, was the start of Canada as it exists today. I believe, if I remember correctly, one of the leaders, I think Wolfe, was killed towards the end of the battle. So perhaps not so auspicious a day.

  3. geewits,
    I do like Sept 13. It has a nice feel to it. Anyway I like autumn. Thanks for the wishes. Dinner was a good start for the rest of this year.

    Crag,
    ……as in blackcrag? Or have I mistaken you for someone else? I do know about how important that battle was in Canadian history. Indeed, Wolfe did die on that day. But hey, it’s also Scooby doo’s birthday. You can’t go wrong with that……..should be lots of Scooby snacks.

  4. From a gluten-intolerant, possibly celiac person, thanks for listing this!

    I do feed nuts to our squirrels, so if you feel in danger of starving in your freedom, come on by! (Hope that you don’t starve. Does your country treat the squirrels as well as they deserve?)

  5. If it’s Scooby Doo’s birthday, well,then… of course it’s an auspicious day.

    And yes, this Crag is a Canadian crag with a dark aspect. No mistake.

  6. Jelica,
    I agree. September people are special. My wife is also born in September.

    Kathryn,
    Sure thing. No problem at all. As for starving, I was just kidding ………. I get to live off my wife’s earnings for a while.

    Crag,
    Good to hear from you. Hope things are well with you and that you have many Scooby snacks.

Leave a Reply

