Going, Blogging…..Gone?


Remember the vinyl record? Or the tape cassette? Or the 8 track cartridge?  They were all means to record and playback audio.  These in turn have given way to the CDs and the iPod and MP3 players may be undermining CDs.

Likewise do you remember we once used 8, 5 1/4 and 3 1/2 inch floppy discs for storing computer data.  Then came the CD-ROM and now we have tiny pen-drives.

In a similar way, we started with fingers and toes, graduated to slide rules and now we use calculators.

With the march of progress, some things are relegated to the scrap heap of history.

Recently, during Blogfest.Asia 2010 Conference, a Prof. Peter Herford said that the future of blogging may be under threat as new trends in social media and news dissemination emerge online.

Prof. Herford is a 27 year veteran with American television network CBS but has been based in China for the last eight years and is currently teaching at Shantou University.  His point is that although there is an estimated 50 million bloggers in China alone, Facebook has already reached 500 million users in just seven years.  He postulates, ‘I won’t be surprised if blogging doesn’t grow beyond this point as new innovations are introduced on the internet.”

So, what do you think?  Is blogging going the way of the Dodo?  How do you feel about Facebook, Twitter and other such social media in comparison to blogging?

I love blogging and bloggers.  I certainly hope that Prof. Herford is wrong about this.

You'd be grumpy too if you woke up this morning and found out you were extinct.
20 thoughts on “Going, Blogging…..Gone?”

  1. I feel as you do. I have a Facebook page, most reluctantly, but infinitely prefer blogging. I have never explored Twitter and do not intend to. I think Facebook, Twitter and their ilk are the fast food of communication, not very nourishing and mostly uninteresting. A blog post is a piece of writing. It expresses an idea and expands upon it. It invites comments from readers, which leads to a delightful exchange and to the feeling that some of our fellow bloggers are actually friends, even though we may never meet in person. I do not think that the social networks which seem to exist merely to amass as many dubious “friends” as possible can compare with all that.

  2. I totally disagree with Professor Herford. I can not see the “social” in the new socalled “social media”. As I understand twitter allows only 140 characters what is surely not enough to express a thought or a feeling or have a decent communication. Facebook is unacceptable for me, latest from the point onwards when the head honcho Zuckerberg saied that privacy is for the weak – and this bloke means it the way he states it.
    It is all about communication and its shades and different grades of intensity – and I find the blog is the best all-in-one solution for this. The different things you mentioned initially all are technical solutions, and of course the technical progress is fast and will move on. But has communication changed? Is it really communication to twitter something like “Hey, I am bored!” or to hang it all out on facebook, where I have to give control over my webspace to a company that says loud and clear that privacy is of no worth and that corrupts the fine word “friend”?
    I have met wonderful people through blogging and this only works because it is based on mutual respect and tolerance; and because anybody involved has the same possibilities to speak, to comment, to be heared. There are different levels of familiarity, closeness and trust. For me it is a rewarding experience.
    Blogging will grow beyond the point Professor Herford mentioned, simply because some areas of the world will only start with “the web” in the time coming. The other question is how many of facebooks accounts are still working – and will be working in maybe six months? I mean the obligation or connection – sorry, in German one would speak about “Kundenbindung”, I can not translate this: The point is simply that people will get rid of a facebook account very easy or a twitter thingy, because they did not put in something of their own, content. The blog is a plaything too, but it can be a serious one if I want it to be, twitter is always just twitter and nothing else, facebook is nothing else but facebook. A blog can be more. So, there. 🙂

  3. I love blogging too – sure hope Professor Herford is wrong. I don’t know about Twitter and Facebook. I use both although I see more value in Twitter (at the moment). Remember MySpace? Everything has it’s time…I hope blogging will have real longevity.

  4. There are good bloggers and then some like me that love to read and to learn and will comment. But age and life style have caught up with me. How many times can I talk about my great grands or my grand children. BORING I hope blogging never goes away.

  5. Nah. Different kind of folks. People who blog don’t generally want to do it in 50 words or less. Bloggers usually have a longer attention span. FB & twitter folks can only keep a single thought for .005 seconds. Not long enough to write a complete sentence. (Please realize that much of this is sarcasm & i recognize that it is not 100% accurate.) Bloggers go for more thoughts, more words, more personal contact. FB folks just, um, provide a few random thoughts.

    FB has its place, but if it is going to replace blogging, then magazines (online forums included) will replace novels.

  6. I have been overwhelmed by job, life, Facebook, travel… the list is endless. My time blogging has decreased horribly until I am almost just a picture ever month or so… but I have to say I hope blogging never stops. It has so much more soul than Facebook, Twitter (shudders) or My Space… when I put my heart into it my blog is fabulous. I have met so many neat folks through their blogs – and though I have become very lax in my own posting, I still take it seriously when I do. I know other bloggers do too -and my dear LGS, I love your blog and appreciate your many visits to my humble and scarce offerings.

  7. I go to Facebook to see what’s up with my friends and post pictures from vacations and I read blogs of people whom I never met, but there is something in their writing that speaks to me. To me these are too very different venues for “sharing” and I don’t see that they are mutually exclusive. I spend a lot of time on FB but that doesn’t prevent me from reading blogs or blogging.

  8. Hang on to the hypothesis that even if blogging goes into decline, there will always be a niche band of cool people who will continue doing what they love. Take heart from the vinyl revival which now sees all major album releases in the 12″ vinyl format, almost 30 years after the invention of the CD and the more recent MP3 innovations. In 2009, despite accounting for less than one per cent of music purchases, American sales of vinyl topped almost three million, an increase of a million records over the previous year.

    Then again, if blogging goes the way of the 8 track cartridge, you really do have something to worry about…!

  9. hearts,
    I agree. I had a Facebook account and it was initially fun to connect with some long lost friends but in the end, I shut it down because it became like a demanding baby, always seeking attention. The people I meet blogging in a way know me much better than anyone could from FB and likewise.

    Mago,
    I agree with everything you say. FB does not respect privacy and I really did not like how people could put all sort of things on my page. I also like how you point out that FB has made the word “friend” so trivial.

  10. Laura,
    I tried FB and stopped but I have no experience with Twitter. What is it that you find of value with Twitter?

    Joyce,
    I was a regular at your blog and never thought it boring. Even if news may be mundane, your personality shines in a post.

  11. Kathryn,
    My,my. I like your wickedly funny sarcasm! I also think that you were spot on in using the comparison of a magazine and a novel to illustrate the difference between FB and blogging.

    Terry,
    I do hope that we will see more of you on your blog. You know I love to visit. Forget FB and come back to us in blogland.

  12. Jelica,
    It seems that you have found the happy balance of both media. I enjoyed FB in the beginning but it became too demanding in the end and I stopped it.

    Singular Musings,
    Yay! I like what you said about “cool people still doing what they love”. That’s us – we’re cool.

    Secretagentwoman,
    Do you FB?

  13. Can’t believe it, blogging is just too good to simply dry up and disappear since Facebook came along. Facebook seems fairly empty to me in comparison.

    Having good old fashioned sex didn’t disappear when artificial insemination was invented, so I don’t see why blogging would disappear either…

  14. I am sure he will be wrong LGS. I was on twitter shortly and got bored quickly and didn’t see the sense of it. Blogging is so much richer You can find poetry, photos interesting stories and articles and humouristic squirrels

  15. Owen,
    I’m with you. One hopes that neither blogging nor old fashioned sex will disappear.

    Marja,
    I was hoping someone would explain to me the attraction of Twitter cause I just don’t get it. Thank you for your kind words for “humouristic” squirrels.

  16. I agree, blogging has more depth to it. Even those who aren’t great writers like yourself (that’d be me) have a better story then those who write a couple lines on facebook or twitter. I’m done with facebook. I tried twitter very briefly.

  17. I hope I made sense above. I just realized it sounded like I was saying you weren’t a great writer. I think you ARE a great writer. 🙂 I’m not such a great writer. Oi.

Leave a Reply

