A Whole Lot of Feeding and Jumping Going On


Last Saturday, I drove about 60 km, partly along a dark country road to attend a friend’s wedding dinner in a small town. I have known the groom for about 6 years now. He does not come from a privileged background but he has a strong passion for working with nature and an incredibly strong work ethic, which has caused him to progress quickly in his career and also won him much respect amongst the community and his workmates. In fact, those of us who know of his long hours, often working 7 day weeks, frequently forfeiting his leave and on top of that attending night school, are relieved that he has finally taken some time to listen to his heart-strings. Where did this workaholic meet his bride, you ask? At work of course!

But they both took some time off to plan their nuptials and to honeymoon in Bali and won’t worry about work till next month. Good for them.

Anyway, it was a big Hindu wedding. There was a temple ceremony earlier followed by the dinner at night in a large community hall. This is a small close knit community and the groom is well known and the bride is the daughter of a well established local potter, so just about everyone was there.

Now, suffice to say that a great time was had by all, although the loud music blasted at the front tables probably has caused some permanent damage to our hearing. There was lots of jumping and dancing going on ranging from traditional Punjabi folk dances to the latest Bollywood numbers. I video-taped the Bhangra dance which is a lively and energetic dance by the Punjabi community but the video really was poor quality and does not do the dance justice. So, for your benefit, I purloined a rather good video from You Tube. Hope you enjoy it.

Of course, there was also a lot of delicious Indian food. Let’s see. There was Briyiani rice, acar (spicy vegetable pickle with peanuts), dhall (chickpea curry), dry mutton curry, Chicken fried with chili amongst others. But before we could eat, there was a lot of ceremonial feeding. In a Hindu wedding, kissing the bride is not as important as feeding the bride….and feeding the groom ……and the bride feeding the groom ……and the groom feeding the bride. Yup. A whole lot of jumping and feeding going on.

A Kolam Welcomes All to the Wedding
A Kolam is a traditional art form using coloured rice.
Me Feeding the Bride
Me Feeding the Groom
More Feeding Going On
Secret Squirrel Sneaking a Photo With the Bride and Groom
Bhangra – the very energetic and lively dance of the Punjabi farmers
Vodpod videos no longer available.
17 thoughts on “A Whole Lot of Feeding and Jumping Going On”

  1. OMG I’m so envious. I love Indian food and would love to have been there. What a great experience LGS. Thanks for sharing. Especially something joyous. That video makes me sweat sitting down.

    When having my abode to myself on a nice afternoon, I often play an hour-long Raga on the hi fi. Also great accompaniment for massage that leads to other more exuberant activities with your masseuse.

  2. What a time of pleasure and beauty followed by good food. A very interesting post and I learned something about a culture I had very little knowledge of. Thank you.

  3. I admit, I know very little about Indian culture, and am grateful for the opportunity to learn more. What lovely clothes they have – so colorful! I like the feeding concept, too. It seems so personal!
    =]

  4. Awesome video Lgs. I have received a couple of exquisite Indian wedding invitations but was unable to attend either. What a delightful ceremony I missed. I gave up Western food a few years ago eating only Indian vegetarian dishes hence recognized those you mentioned – must admit it took a while to get used to all the chillies 🙂
    Thanks also for the mention in your Music post – am still busy with paintings hence commenting is a tad bit on the sporadic side 🙂

  5. Mr. Charleston,
    We don’t have much here that makes people envious but I guess we can be proud of our wide range of ethnic foods of which Indian food is a jewel in the crown. Glad you like Indian music too …..erm ….for all those reasons you mentioned. 🙂

    Secret Agent,
    It was interesting. You should spy one out if you have the chance. This feeding activity ties back to our earliest need to be loved and nurtured, I think. Nice symbolism. But I think if I were either the bride or groom that I would be grossed out at having to eat from so many people’s hands.

  6. Joyce,
    Thank you. Your kind comments are always very appreciated.

    Sweet Cheeks,
    I think the feeding activity demonstrates a relationship of trust, respect and love. Quite intimate really. Harking back to when we were helpless babies who required the love of our mothers to feed us. Because of that love, we respect our parents and when the bride and groom allow others to feed them, it is a show of respect, elevating those people on level with their parents. Then there is the trust component. That’s where they trust that those people washed their hands after they used the toilet. 😉

  7. Mago,
    Thanks. I think all young couples need all the best wishes and good vibes they can get these days.

    Janice,
    Oooo. Any good Indian recipes? I hope you will tell us more about your painting commissions. But I am guessing we’ll have to wait till Christmas? Makes me feel like a kid waiting till Christmas morning to open presents.

  8. WOW! How COOL was THAT!!!! I feel as if I were a guest at the wedding! I loved the build up to the photos. So many times I see pics and never get that kind of description. Beautiful couple and such a fun wedding!

    Thank you for sharing this!

    gina 🙂

  9. What a beautiful bride! I have always wanted to attend a Hindu wedding. The food, the gorgeous decor, the music and dancing. (sigh) The bangra video is wonderful! How can anyone sit still listening and watching that? I would love to be able to dance like that. Did you dance the bhangra LGS? 🙂

  10. Gina,
    Thanks. I am glad you like the narrative and the pics.

    Geewits,
    It was a bit strange in that this was like a wedding of a protege. It was fun but I felt a little old.

    laura,
    I swayed and I tapped my feet but no way I can dance like that. LOL.

  11. What great pics! I’ve been reading a lot lately about how marriage is becoming passe, and many young people are choosing to live and raise children together without benefit of a wedding ceremony, and I see it when I look around me. I think that is such a shame. A shame not to mark such a big decision with a ritual and a celebration with those you love and who love you, and to avail yourself of all the blessings and support, since, after the first flush of romance, living with someone else takes commitment, hard work and lots of compromise. But we’re so “sophisticated” in the west. I think those who still value and celebrate marriage have it right and we’re losing the plot…..
    That video was amazing! The dancers looked like they were having so much fun, I wanted to get right up and join them….Of course if I did I’d be in traction tomorrow!

  12. Looks like you had a wonderful time. Gorgeous pictures. Beautiful couple. A friend from work goes to India soon for a wedding and told me the wedding takes 3 days. Now that’s a proper party.

  13. Molly,
    I agree. I am now a major proponent for marriage of the life-long fully committed variety. I love to see the dance but agree that participating is ill advised. DO not try this at home!

    Marja,
    This ceremony was actually over two days separated by one month.

Leave a Reply

