Bye 2010


Squirrel Calendar 2010

Strangely, I have never done a review of an outgoing year on this blog but this year has been a major milestone in my life’s journey and I thought it was appropriate to do a review of 2010.

January :- My Year, Baby!”  After a couple of crappy years which were filled with stress and characterised by poor health, conflicts at work and the loss of both my elderly parents, I sensed that 2010 would be different.  It was going to be MY YEAR.  Interestingly, it was the Year of the Tiger (my year according to the Chinese zodiac).  I started the year with much optimism.

February:- Red-eyes”  The Winter Olympic Games in Vancouver!  Many sleepless nights watching the live broadcasts.  Mostly I watched the curling but the highlight had to be the ice hockey finals between USA and Canada.  My team WON!!!! Go Canada.  That was so satisfying.

March :- A Fallen Light”  This month started with the sad and tragic death of a friend.  Aha was an Orang Asli (aborigine) whom I had worked with.  He was a rare individual gifted with ability and a passion to help his people.  He had been involved in developing an ecotourism product run by the Orang Asli community which would help raise their standard of living.  His death is a great loss and will have a big impact on his community.  I wrote a poem in reflection.

April :- The Haircut: How the Pampered Have Fallen”   Although I had not yet announced it yet on my blog, I had made a decision to resign (giving 3 months notice) from my nature conservation job after serving in that capacity for over 15 years.  I would seek to address the negative things affecting my life such as stress, poor health and lack of time for things that matter.  Of course, I was a little concerned about my impending lack of income.

May :-Life Hiatus”  I took a break from blogging as I tried to settle things and to hand over my job to my replacement.   It was a very busy time at work as I tried to tie up all the lose ends. Amongst the last things that I did was to attend a meeting in Taiwan. That was a wonderful opportunity to see Taipei but it was also a time of saying goodbye to many colleagues, both local and regional.

June :-First Day of the Rest of My Life”  I became a free man – free to starve to death, that is.  But that thought was not really on my mind.  It felt more like a re-birth and I celebrated it with a switch from Blogger to WordPress as a symbolic shift to something new.  Also I was distracted by the soccer World Cup.

July :-It’s Time”  I did not really had time to worry about my financial situation when I was offered a couple of part time consultancy work.  These would give me income to carry on while occupying only about a third of my time.  Perfect.  Also, World Cup was still going on.

August :-Bali Squirrels & Pura Taman Ayun”  I was blessed to be able to tag along on my wife’s business trip and to enjoy a full expenses paid holiday in Bali, Indonesia.  A week there was just what the doctor ordered to de-stress this frazzled squirrel.  Finally made it and became a beach bum.

September :-Heroine Against Modern Slavery”  I got older.  48 to be specific.  However, apart from that tragedy, I had the satisfaction of seeing a longtime endangered animal smuggler in Malaysia finally get arrested and even more wonderful, I learned that a friend from Costa Rica had been honored for her work in rescuing and rehabilitating prostitutes.

October:-Terror” The world was mesmerized when miners in Chile were rescued despite having been trapped for months underground.  I faced my own terror.  One of the things I had to attend to was the condition of my teeth. This led to 5 painful sessions on the torture rack known as the dentist’s chair.

November :-A Whole Lot of Feeding and Jumping Going On”   A time for celebration!  A good friend and former colleague got married.  A wonderful love story.  Apart from that it was a quiet but busy month work-wise.

December :-Pygmies of Darkest Borneo”  I was doing some voluntary work when as part of the work, I was asked to visit a few conservation areas to study their ecotourism development.  This meant that I was given opportunity to see some great places and even get paid for it  I got to see many animals and birds (which I have posted on) and also bats (which I have not yet posted).   Feeling very blessed.

It has been a good year, good ol’ 2010.

May God bless you and may 2011 be a better year in every way for you.

18 thoughts on “Bye 2010”

  1. Glad 2010 was a good year for you LGS. Wishing you an even better 2011. I have really enjoyed your excellent posts throughout this year – thank you. 🙂

  2. What a year you’ve had !

    Hopefully, as every good squirrel does, you’ve cached some stockpiles of nuts to get you through the thin times. All the best to you in 2011 !

  3. Here’s wishing you an even better 2011 LGS – I’m glad that you visited and commented on my blog during 2010 so that I became aware of your great posts … keep on trucking!

  4. You have plenty of and a wide variety of black, red and grey cousins here if you wish to come and visit, maybe as…I mean FOR dinner.

  5. Happy New Year

    oh my – it has been so long since I have looked at my blog friend’s blogs.. just starting to scratch the surface & wondering about coming back.

    So much has happened here 🙂

    I have 2 squirrels in the backyard.. tho not grey, I think of you each time I see ( and feed) them

    Happy 2011 LGS !!!

  6. Here! here! And Cheers! Happy New Year. It was a pretty good year for you, you tiger! But I must admonish you for letting your teeth get in bad shape. That’s not right. I hope you have a perfectly wonderful 2011.

  7. Like you, my year began with the death of a parent as well. And I did land a pretty good, albeit part-time, job. And here in the States there was hope for a new president. But for some reason, I’m glad to see 2010 go.

    Happy New Year LGS.

  8. Laura,
    Thanks. I have learned a thing or two from your interesting posts. May 2011 be a great year for you and yours.

    Owen,
    I could do with a “thin” period. Maybe I get to lose some weight. Have a blessed New Year.

  9. OneStonedCrow,
    I am so glad that someone told me about your blog. I find your posts to be so informative and a wonderful window to life in Namibia. Wishing you a great year.

    Medstudentwife,
    I hope you are well. It is good to hear from you. You have been missed. Have a great blessed 2011. Look forward to seeing you around more regularly.

  10. Mark,
    No matter how bad things get ……….. don’t EAT cute furry tailed creatures. I wish you a great 2011 ……….so that the squirrels remain safe!

    Kat,
    Sorry that 2010 wasn’t such a good year for you. It did not start well for me either but I made a decision to make changes rather than just continue plodding along and I have no regrets. That’s how the year ended better than it started. Have a great 2011.

  11. geewits,
    I am suitably admonished. It’s true that a toothless tiger isn’t very scary. You’ve had a great 2010 too. May 2011 be even better my BBFF (beer and Buffy fan friend).

    Mr. Charleston,
    I have enjoyed your posts this last year. May 2011 bring you blessings, happiness and peace.

  12. My goodness you really get around just being a squirrel.
    Many wishes for a grand 2011 – and here’s a little something by an unknown author that sums it up well:

    I wish you enough sun to keep your attitude bright.
    I wish you enough rain to appreciate the sun more.
    I wish you enough happiness to keep your spirit alive.
    I wish you enough pain so that the smallest joys in life appear much
    bigger.
    I wish you enough gain to satisfy your wanting.
    I wish you enough loss to appreciate all that you possess.

    Happy New Year Lgs.

  13. Secret agent,
    It’s true that it is good to look back and review once in awhile. I, on the other hand, have to be cautious as I tend to dwell too much in the past and then as a consequence, not enough in the present. Have a great 2011. Wishing you every blessing and especially good health.

    Mago,
    May this be a year of great blessing for you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

