Rude Awakening


Picture this.  It was a lazy Sunday; the day after the start of the new year.  Sure, 2011 was going to get into high gear soon after the relative calm and quiet of the last week  of the holidays.  But not yet.  No, not yet. Mrs. Squirrel and I dozed off in the afternoon, intent to hibernate through that last day before the rude awakening of work life on Monday.  For me, it was even better.  I had no work assignment awaiting me on Monday either…….. zzzzzzzzzzzz.

Suddenly, the phone rang.  Before, either Mrs. Squirrel and I could resurface into consciousness, it stopped ringing.  Happy that the ringing stopped, I rolled over and pressed the restart on the dream I had on pause.  But then, my wife’s handphone rang.

A friend who lived nearby  called asking for help.  Her elderly 81 year old aunt had suddenly passed out and was now shivering uncontrollably and unresponsive.  Suddenly we jumped up into action, wiping away the cobwebs of sleep.

I called my friend back to confirm her address and to get more details while my wife found the ambulance telephone number and called them.  We were in our car while I gave directions for the ambulance.

We arrived and helped the friend keep the aunt warm and waited for the ambulance.  It arrived with lights and sirens blasting which attracted a crowd from the surrounding neighborhood.  We then went with our friend to hospital and waited there for about 5 hours.

The emergency medical team acted quickly and managed to stabilise her condition and put her on a drip.  After about an hour, the aunt was able to hold conversations but despite a number of tests and X-rays, the root problem remained unclear.  A decision was made to ward her for a couple of days for further tests.

While this was happening, at about 9.30 pm, I got an email from the coordinator of a project I am involved in, informing me that he had booked me on a trip to Sepilok, Sabah on a flight leaving the next day!  I spent this morning franctically getting all my equipment and documents ready for the trip.

And so, the lazy end to last year has disappeared in a wisp of smoke while the blazing pace of the new year finds me typing this post from the airport terminal………and horrors, it is only day 3.

16 thoughts on “Rude Awakening”

  1. I must admit I envy you going to the Orang Utan Sanctuary – enjoy and take some pics of the fur people …

    … as we leave your year and enter mine (rabbit) I hope it’ll be a productive one – so far so good …

  2. I have never seen a squirrel that didn’t have alot of energy. It seems you and your wife have that energy and need it. You were a good friend and neighbor and I hope the story has a good ending. Enjoy the trip.

  3. Noooooo!!! Oh, goodness, what a start to the New Year. I hope your elderly friend is okay. And have a wonderful trip. Can a business trip be wonderful? Well, make it so…

    And Happy New Year to you and Mrs. Squirrel. 🙂

  4. Wooooshhh … Hope the old lady recovered, maybe a syncope. I wish you a pleasant trip! Oh, and a Happy New Yea … ah, yes … ther’ goes the Squirrel …

  5. One of the fascinating things about life is that it never goes quite the way you expect or want but that keeps it from being boring 🙂 Have a great trip and take many photos please.

  6. Life can take such sudden twists and turns and…….crashes on the head! I hope the aunt recovers fully and I do hope your trip is not terribly eventful, and you can get back to your semi-hibernation soon, LGS.

  7. Joyce,
    All things are well. The aunt is recuperating and stable but they are still trying to determine the cause.

    Jo,
    It was a wonderful trip as I will try to share with you in the next post.

  8. Mago,
    I know squirrels are supposed to be fast but may I remind you that this one is an old “grey” squirrel.

    Mr. Charleston,
    True, not bored but I wouldn’t mind a gentler slide into excitement at least, say ….after the first week of the new year.

  9. Kat,
    Everything is okay. The aunt is stable. May 2011 be better for you than 2010 has been.

    secret agent,
    The trip was great for frayed nerves. You’ll know what i mean when you see the photos in my next post.

    squirrelmama,
    I think we both know that it is too late to go back into hibernation. Might as well greet this year’s frenzy with eyes wide awake!

Leave a Reply

