Bird Watching Out


Despite having worked with in a nature conservation job for some 15 years and having been surrounded at times by fervent birdwatching fanatics who are lovingly referred to as “twitchers”, its only in the last two years that I have given in and spent sometime doing birdwatching.

You have to understand that while birdwatching may have a large appeal to humans, generally with squirrels it is more a case of  “bird watching out” as it seems a number of species of birds like to make a meal of squirrels.  One of the squirrels that I got to know, Speedy, was quite brave and would stand his grown and fight off crows twice his size who were attracted to the nuts that I left out for him.  But generally for squirrels it is; “Bird! Watch Out!”

Fortunately, all the birds which I photographed below are squirrel friendly and taken at no serious risk to this squirrel.  (All Photos by LGS and taken in Bali, 2010 and 2011)

A Heron? Maybe a Juvenile Chinese Pond Heron?
An Intermediate Egret?
Spotted Dove (This one I am sure!)
White-breasted Waterhen
Black-crowned Night-heron
Collared Kingfisher
12 thoughts on “Bird Watching Out”

  1. Wow! Beautiful photos! Were you able to get close to those birds or did you use zoom from a far distance? I’m very impressed with Speedy’s courage. Go Speedy! Do you have a photo of him too?

  2. Of course I love this post – lovely pictures. We have several of the same species here as you … Black Crowned Night Heron, Spotted Dove, and well, a Belted Kingfisher… You got some fabulous shots- Thanks for the neat birdwatching via your blog 🙂

  3. Loved the pictures but where was Speedy. My son was feeding a Black Squirrel peanuts when he called me yesterday. Have a great week.

  4. Beautiful photos LGS. Today we saw a Heron in the pond near our home. Funny, we are at opposite ends of the globe and yet have a few similar birds are in our “backyards”.

  5. Sincerity,
    I did use a telescopic lens to help get the pictures but with some of the large water birds, they were quite near; say about 2-3 meters away. These birds can be quite bold if there is some water separating us from them. Many were taken at a pond right next to a verandah where we had our breakfast. Speedy was from another place and time and regrettably I have no pictures of him but believe me when I say that he had rippling muscles! 🙂

    Terry,
    I suspect you are a “twitcher”? Right? “Belted Kingfisher”? Surely, the belt would be lower down. Haha. 🙂

  6. Joyce,
    I’m afraid that Speedy was from a different place and a very long time ago. I am sure he has now gone to the great nut burying fields of his ancestors. However, his grand kids may still be fighting off the birds today in his tradition. Incidentally, Speedy was a black squirrel.

    Laura,
    Thanks. Perhaps our herons are globetrotters.

  7. Secret agent,
    How lucky that you can enjoy these birds on your morning walk. Unfortunately, I live in a concrete jungle and apart from some urban adapted species, I have to go at least 50 km away for some good quality bird watching.

  8. Great pics LGS! I love Herons, we get “Great Blue Herons” here. I mostly just watch the birds that come around our house, which is about 12 different types. I think that it is an enviable variety. There is always a Bald Eagle siting on one of the light posts of the 520 bridge. They are always an impressive/intimidating sight. I can see why the U.S. chose it as it’s symbolic bird. I have seen them take off with sizable rabbits and seagulls in their grasp. I’m quite sure the look in the eye of that seagull was, “Oh shit!”

    Take Care, my friend!
    ~M

  9. Melanie,
    Did you know that at one time, the turkey was considered as a candidate for America’s national bird? I think that would have psychologically led to a very different America. 🙂

Leave a Reply

