The Potter Formula


 

Well, at last the Harry Potter franchise of books and movies that seemed to have dominated the lives of so many young people  in the last decade has come to an end.

I have always complained that the Harry Potter stories by J.K. Rowling were poorly written, predictable, formulaic, repetitive and full of plot holes.  Well, I am a big enough squirrel to admit that 50% of that is what I believe but the other 50% is a case of sour grapes on my part.  Why?  Cause she became  a billionaire from writing this teen fodder. ……….I wish I had done that!

Anyway, I watched the final film installment of the series, “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Part II)”.  It was probably one of the best in the series and I have to admit that she managed to tie all the loose ends up rather well, even though the concept of the Hallows themselves seemed a little contrived and if examined under the electron microscope, certain plot flaws may be seen.  Anyway, that is my way of grudgingly acknowledging her writing.

Still, one wonders why it was such a mega-hit.  What can we learn so that we can churn out the next mega-hit for this decade and become billionaires ourselves.  Well, the big mega-hit of my generation was Star Wars (although I lost interest after the fourth movie in the series).

After spending my entire nut reserve on research, I can reveal to you that there is a certain formula followed by both Harry Potter and Luke Skywalker.

Originally seen at RandomPics.net.

And, there’s one more thing.  Do you remember that classic line in Star Wars;

Darth Vader: “Luke, I AM your father.”

Well the equivalent in the Potter series is not actually said but it was implied;

Severus Snape: “Harry, I LOVED your mother.”

So once again, the Lone Grey Squirrel has unselfishly shared with all of you the formula to fame and fortune.  If you do make it big, remember me ……..I would be happy with 15%.  Thank you

20 thoughts on “The Potter Formula”

  1. That was pretty clever. I loved the last movie because I kept telling my husband from day one (the movies, not the books) that Snape was really a good guy. I stood by it even after he killed Dumbledore. I was finally proven right!

  2. By Jove Squirrel, I think you’ve got it. Can’t wait until you’re a billionaire and can rid us of Rupert Murdoc.

  3. No need for a billion bucks, just get to stashing more nuts let me get you drunk and reveal the secret storage place…need I really finish the story?

  4. Well done! 🙂 I understand not everyone is a fan of the series however, I credit JK Rowling and the Harry Potter series for turning my children into avid readers. Now they devour books and chose reading over TV and computers (most of the time). Many of us have a book that remains a childhood favourite…for me it was the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe and the Anne of Green Gables series…I think HP might be THE book for many kids this generation.

  5. I never watched or read Potter and saw only one Starwars movie. TV has had SW on so I have seen some of it. But if Potter can get kids to read good a point in its favor. Any one out there remember Flash Gordon? Guess I showed my age again. Back in the dark ages Flash was one I loved to watch.

  6. I think Alec Guinness was laughing all through the shooting of it. He remarked somewhere that it secured his retirement … And I’m with Joyce here, I’d prefer Flash Gordon anytime!

  7. There are indeed some parallels, although the biggest are the themes of friendship and the battle between Light and Dark (or Good and Evil). I do think the token thing wasn’t really true in the books – the school seemed to be a nice mix of ethnicities, with Harry’s love interest for a long while being Asian.

  8. Thats awesome! I love the side by side comparision, especially “the hairy friend”. What’s funny is that a few years back I was walking up the stairs at a Borders bookstore and saw a book with a nice cover at the landing display. I started to read the first chapter because I love the vampire-genre mind, but it was horrible, horrible, writing. I couldn’t believe someone had published it. I put it back and said, “This will never sell!” That book of course was “Twilight” by Stephanie Meyers. On the one hand I lament at how such bad writing could become so popular, especially among the younger generations, but then on the other hand, it gave me courage that if that could get published, then theres hope for me.
    ~Melanie

  9. Jeyna,
    I am so pleased that a Potter fan and a fan fiction writer like yourself came by for this post and left a comment. Thanks. As to why HP and Star Wars are being compared is that they are the iconic movie series for two different generations. Potter is your generation and Star Wars was mine.

    geewits,
    In fact Snape’s character is one of the more interesting one and his dedication to lost love quite appealing. I was rooting for him too.

  10. Mr.Charleston,
    I appreciate the thought but waiting for me to be a billionaire is probably not the best strategy for replacing Mr. Murdoch. Yeah, I doubt that he would be quaking in his boots at the possibility.

    Mark,
    I know that the USA is having some financial issues but ……STAY AWAY FROM MY NUTS!!!!!

  11. Laura,
    If HP has made children read than it has been a very positive influence but I wonder how many just waited for the movies! Haha. Okay, probably more sour grapes on my part. In my childhood, I read the entire James Herriot series but my favorite book was Gavin Maxwell’s Ring of Bright Water. No wizards in either of those.

    Joyce,
    My, my Flash Gordon. I have seen Flash Gordon but I suppose most kids today will not know of him. I remember the movies were nice in a campy sort of way. I always like the villian, Ming the Merciless.

  12. Mago,
    Flash Gordon could possibly be our very first cosmic hero. Is that right? That makes him historically, very important. Just as I enjoy old B-grade horror movies, I too like Flash.

    RiotKitty,
    How did you managed to remain so unstained by modern media propaganda and popular culture? I am in awe.

  13. Marja,
    Thank you. I will accept payment in nuts ……seems more reliable than the US Dollar at the moment.

    Secret agent,
    I am curious what your 14 year old son thought about the series.

  14. Melanie,
    I couldn’t agree more. While I don’t think Harry Potter is great writing, I think Twilight is very poor writing. Yet its another big hit with the teens. I don’t understand it. Have I grown so old that I no longer understand the youth of today or is it that they just have a uniformly bad taste in literature?

  15. LGS, we all have our heroes and superheroes, of course, but remember too that somewhere out there, there might be a call for a sequel to Secret Squirrel and then it will be time for rodents to cash in on the craze! ‘Til then, just be patient as can be!!

Leave a Reply

