Pole Dancing


One of the wonderful things associated with Chinese New Year celebrations (which is still going on as it lasts 15 days), is the Lion Dance.  Here are some photos and a video that I took during a performance by a lion dance troupe at a friend’s home in Malaysia.  To make it more interesting, the dance is carried out by the lion dancers as they prance around on top of poles some 2-3 metres off the ground.   Yes, this is “pole dancing” the Chinese Lion Dance style.  “Pole dancing” by men in costumes.

Astute readers will have noticed that the Squirrel is making repeated references to “pole dancing”.  This is a thinly veiled and  brazen attempt to get more hits on this blog from people googling “pole dancing”.  Anyway, now that you are here, get your brain out of the sewer and be enlightened by some culture.

The Lion Gets Ready
The Lion Climbs on Board

Wait for it! Lion Pole Dancing!
Vodpod videos no longer available.

(ALL PICTURES AND VIDEO BY LGS)

18 thoughts on “Pole Dancing”

  1. Cool! Really exciting pole dancing! Chinese pole dancers are simply the best! Or, better even: Pole dancers of Malaysia are great! I could go on and on … 🙂

  2. LGS, that’s rather clever use of SEO (and a nice blog post by the way – Happy New Year!) but for a moment I was thinking this was about Eastern Europe and we were going to watch a video of some Poles….dancing.

  3. Mark,
    I agree. I think the rear legs guy also has to be a lot stronger as he spends most of the time in a bent over position and then also has to lift the front guy up from time to time as part of the routine.

    Riot Kitty,
    Lion Dancing …….. a bigger version of kitties playing with a ball of yarn.

  4. Molly,
    To my surprise, until now, not a single visitor has come here because he/she tried to look up “pole dancer”. I did get one spam from someone trying to sell stripper poles but that was it. Another under-performing nefarious plan. *sigh*

    Caryn,
    Heavens! Polish dancers dancing? Your mind is even more inscrutible than mine. LOL. I like it.

  5. I’m sure pole dancers tuned in, I’m a pole dancer and I did. You’re plan worked. This looks really awesome and what a beautiful costume. As an artist, I’m intrigued, and also can’t help but feeling irritated. As an artist and some one who claims to appreciate culture, perhaps you (and your readers) should look at the growth of pole dancing a little harder before knocking it down a peg to make yourselves feel better.

  6. Annemarie,
    Thank you for your very civil comment. The post was meant to be tongue in cheek but I do apologise if I have offended you. After reading your comment, I went over and visited your site and as you had suggested, I took a “look at the growth of pole dancing a little harder”. I was definitely surprised and was much enlightened by the efforts of people like yourself to promote pole dancing as a legitimate art form. I applaud your efforts. From now on, I will distinguish between stripper pole dancing and pole dancing. At any rate, my comment “about getting the brain out of the sewer” was always meant for sleazy men looking for stripper pole dancing.

  7. There you go LGS, don’t mess with Pole dancers … can’t help, I feel a little sleazy while I clinche to my can of Budweiser …

  8. Attractive portion of content. I simply stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to claim that
    I acquire actually loved account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment or even I success you access persistently rapidly.

Leave a Reply

