Fire in the Sanctuary


The Fire Burns Bright in Heart's Sanctuary (Photo by LGS)
A fire blazes bright and warm,
Where darkness once held reign,
It lights the garden of my heart,
Through wind, clouds and rain.
 
Where once I wondered at the sky
where flickering stars glitter bright
 my eyes, my soul now inward cast
at dancing flames and laughing light
 
And in its glow, I dare to dream
To rise beyond earthly bounds
To soar on spirit wings and hope
To the symphony of nightly sounds
 
A fire blazes bright and warm
Within the sanctuary of my heart
At peace, I in slumber rest
Assured that I am under its guard

Poem and Picture by LGS.

12 thoughts on “Fire in the Sanctuary”

  1. Absolutely beautiful.

    “And in its glow, I dare to dream
    To rise beyond earthly bounds
    To soar on spirit wings and hope
    To the symphony of nightly sounds”

    This in particular!

  2. poeticgoblin,
    Many thanks for your kind words. I feel honored by your comment. I agree with you that that particular verse perhaps flowed more naturally. I strive to improve.

    Riot Kitty,
    Thanks. I am quite happy about the picture. The poem less so. I think I still have lots to learn about poetry.

  3. oceangirl,
    Wow, many thanks for your kind words which means a lot as I know you like poetry. As for me, I only dabble occasionally at it and I think this isn’t one of my better efforts (written late at night with blurry eyes).

Leave a Reply

