Return of the Squirrel


Dear Readers,

I can’t believe that it has been 5 months since I last posted.  I am sorry for my long absence.  I have missed interacting with all of you but there was a unique and powerful convergence of writer’s block, lethargy, moving house and outside activities that transported me out of blogland for the last few months.

I just visited Molly and she wrote; “Looks like my cheering section’s down to a few die hards, those who can deal with the randomness, and the frequent total absence of a blogger on these pages”.  Well, Molly, I think my situation is even more dire.  I have been missing in action and probably given up for dead.

But stealing from Mark Twain; “The reports of my death have been greatly exaggerated.”

Not dead but the life of a vampire squirrel sucks!  And as a Vampire Squirrel, I am definitely not a morning person!
Not dead but the life of a vampire squirrel sucks! And as a Vampire Squirrel, I am definitely not a morning person!

Stealing from General MacArthur as he addressed the people of the Philippines from the landing beaches at the start of the liberation of the islands from the Japanese forces during World War II;  “I have returned.”

I Have Returned
I Have Returned

Astute readers will have realized that this post has some original content consisting of a few poorly strung together sentences but largely consists of a couple of stolen quotes (3! if we count the quote I stole from Molly) and a couple of pictures stolen off the internet.  In my defense,  I was always trained to believe the following maxim; “To steal ideas from one person is plagiarism; to steal from many is research.”  Even that maxim was stolen from somewhere.  So as you can see I did a lot of research for this post!  You’re welcome.

But I guess what I am trying to say is that “I’m back!”  And I will try to get you caught up with all the exciting things that have been happening in my life (please try not to yawn so loudly, it’s just rude) through a series of posts in the next few days entitled, “Now You Know What I Did Last Summer” (Hmmm….another stolen idea.  Have I no shame?  …. I guess not).

TTFN – Ta ta for now!  Now I wonder where I stole  er..researched that from…….

P.S.  Even as I mention MacArthur and the Philippines, may I invite us all to continue to pray and send aid for those affected by the tragic calamity of Typhoon Haiyan in the Philippines and elsewhere.  If you wish to donate to the relief efforts, please check out this post which gives information on how to do that.

17 thoughts on “Return of the Squirrel”

  1. Calvin —So good to see you back among the living. I am stoked to be in the company of Mr. Twain and the General. I’m glad those reports were exaggerated. Please don’t take offense but I’ve seen better photos of you than that one in the black cape.

  2. Molly,
    My favorite Irish lass! Glad to be back and meeting up with you and the others. The picture with the black cape represents my dark and dangerous side. I was told that the ladies dig bad boys …… is that not true?

Leave a Reply

