Surfing Outback


This week LGS is stepping in the ol’ time machine (otherwise known as my dusty photo album) to go back some 15 years.  It was not the best of times for me.  I was very  stressed, terribly unhealthy and quite unwell.  During this dip in my life, I took a trip to Australia to visit relatives.  I was so worn out that I slept most of the time there.  But I did go on a road trip with them towards the interior of Oz.

Our journey started from Perth and we made our way south for hundreds of kilometers to Albany before we struck out to the north and inland towards the heart of the continent.

 

south australia_0060
As it was spring, the journey started lush and green and colourful (Stirling Range National Park)
south australia_0038
Canola fields
south australia_0061
After the Stirling Range, we endured seemingly endless boring kilometers of flat, dry , dusty featureless landscape (the wild flowers were pretty though)
south australia_0051
Any distraction from the long drive was welcome.  Even a dog cemetery.
south australia_0066
But there were beautiful things to see if you took your time to look
south australia_0062
And there were local inhabitants to meet
south australia_0055
Finally, we made it to our destination of Hyden.  This is where we spent the night.
south australia_0056
Near by is the Hippo’s Yawn Cave.  Caves nearby have aboriginal hand paintings.
south australia_0063
And finally, this was what we traveled all those long dusty kilometers to do!  To go surfing! (Wave Rock, Hyden)

No chance of drowning or shark attack here!

 

10 thoughts on “Surfing Outback”

  1. Amazing photographs ! In my imagination all of Australia, except a small rim at the coasts, is dry red desert, so I look at these flowers and colours with awe. And the Wave Rock is really the cherry on top !

  2. Mago,
    You are not wrong. It is mostly dry red desert most of the time but it comes alive with flowers in spring. The Wave Rock was fun but it sure was a long, long drive to get there.

  3. I heared that it is very easy to get lost in that land. even people with a usually good sense of orientation loose it. I never was there, so it’s only hearsay. Sometimes when I look at pictures of inner-Australia I have the feeling that it is an angry land. But I may be wrong, I live in sunny & friendly Franconia !

Leave a Reply

