Choosing Sides


When I was young, I spent a lot of time reading comics.  And now, some of those same comics have made it onto the silver screen in a big or should I say, a MEGA way.  The Marvel-Disney stable of movies now account for four of the five movies with the biggest grossing opening weekends of all time.  The Marvel comics movie franchise has now earned more than Harry Potter, James Bond, the Hobbits or even Star Wars.

All of which merely underlines the fact that I had a wasted youth. If only I had studied my comics more diligently instead of wasting my precious time with trigonometry, science and history at school, perhaps today I would be enjoying my share of the Marvel bonanza. If only. Yes……a wasted youth is a sad, sad thing.

Anyway, I just came back from watching the latest Marvel movie, “Captain America: Civil War”. It was a great movie. I enjoyed it; my wife enjoyed it; my young nephews enjoyed it; someone I know who is really into comics really enjoyed it; someone I know who doesn’t read comics at all went to see it twice! So this means this squirrel gives it a 5 acorn rating.

But without letting the cat out of the bag (and us squirrels prefer the cat not to be running around loose), Captain America and Iron Man find themselves on opposing sides and the rest of the Avengers and superheros have to make a decision about who they support. All of this leads us to this most important and potentially divisive question being asked of all the fans, “Are you on Team Capt. America or Team Iron Man?”

When asked, Wally the Corgi said, “I’m Team Cap because he’s got a cool frisbee.” (Editor: a good enough reason!)

And what about us squirrels?  Well, actually we are great friends with Black Widow so whoever she sides with is just fine with us. Although, sometimes we can’t tell if she is on this side or the other as so often she is playing the double agent. All very confusing really.

squirrel girl black widow
Squirrel Girl hanging with good friend Black Widow and some weirdo.

So whose team are you?

11 thoughts on “Choosing Sides”

  1. Bowing to your squirrel wisdom I’d be on the same side as you. Since I am totally clueless about comic books (youthful experience limited to “Bunty” and “School Friend) I think it wise to be on the same side as one who has a clue. I might even go to the movie!

  2. Molly,
    I’m just taking the advice of Wally the Corgi and Squirrel Girl. Actually, I prefer the previous movie, Captain America: The Winter Soldier better but please do see this latest one or both if possible.

  3. Errr having read many many comic books in my less than illustrious youth I for one think I shall remain neutral on this. I like Iron Man but I also think the old guy Captain America should be more respected.

    No I will take Jughead’s position and watch Three Stooges shorts until they have it all settled.

  4. Mark,
    I tried commenting on your blog a couple of times now but when I try to publish the comment, the preview comes up and then nothing else happens. Thought you ought to know.

  5. Let me see if adding that spinning thingy to it helps, but I haven’t changed any settings. Also I’ll see if your comments went to the spam or trash file–sounds like a filter problem to me.

Leave a Reply

