What’s Your Poison?


The first time I was asked, “What’s your poison?” was at a British pub.  As a young, non-native English speaker, I was wondering what I did to offend my host so that he would offer me poison.  Since then, I have learned that it is just a way of asking what drink I would like.

Err….that is a way of asking what drink I would like, right?

But some of you gentle readers may be surprised to learn that one man’s poison is another man’s cure.  And so, here is a post on drink and poison.

I refer to the Korean practice of having the notoriously deadly and venomous Asian Giant Hornets and other stingers in their alcohol or soju.  I came across this in a market in the city of Sokcho which is in the northeast of South Korea and not too far from the border with the North.

It is said to give a richer flavor profile to the soju as well as a characteristic bitter after taste.  More importantly, like most such medicinal alcohols, it is supposed to give a boost to “male stamina”.  And so, for those of you gentle readers who may be interested in alcoholic drinks or traditional medicines or need help with “male stamina” or are poison wielding murderers in training or are just interested in the bizarre ……. try this poison!

IMG_2281
This is the shop where the magic happens.  The metal distillers can be seen.
IMG_2280
Ingredients for Traditional Medicines:- The usual dried mushrooms, roots, fruits and even eggs
IMG_2288
And then, there are these – hornet hives.
IMG_2289
The display shows some of the venomous stingers being used
IMG_2291
The Hornet Nest is quite pretty, I think.
IMG_2290
And finally, the drink with a sting (quite a few stings actually)

I could only find one video in English that covers this beverage. So here it is….

So….would you try it?

6 thoughts on “What’s Your Poison?”

Leave a Reply

