Goodnight Mr. Cohen and Thanks


Leonard Cohen (September 21, 1934 – November 10, 2016).  A novelist, poet and songwriter.  A beautiful soul has passed ahead of us.  I’m sorry Bob Dylan but for the Nobel Prize for Literature, I would have thought of Leonard Cohen  ahead of you.

Here is a little tribute and remembrance post to this wonderful individual whose words and music can touch our hearts.  I decided not to post some obvious choices like “Suzanne” or “Hallelujah” as I expect they will be cropping up all over.  I had previously posted on two of my favorites “Famous Blue Raincoat” and “Villanelle for Our Times”. So here are two more of his stellar songs as sung by two lovely songstress.

 

9 thoughts on “Goodnight Mr. Cohen and Thanks”

  1. Thank you for sharing these two songs. Both are wonderful — but Madeleine Peyroux’s rendition of Dance Me to the End of Love is spellbinding!! Also, I agree with your thoughts on the 2016 Nobel Prize for Literature!

  2. RIP Leonard Cohen you left some great treasures. I am a fan of this great poet and songwriter and Dance me to the end of love is my favourite ( what a great version of this song you put up)
    Favourite line of Cohen:
    “There is a crack in everything, that’s were the light comes in”

  3. I think Cohen went on his own terms. Last month he talked of it and made no bones that he was ready. He loaded the dice and this is where they stopped.

  4. Although he had lived in California for many years he still maintained a house in Montreal where he would often spend time. Many Montrealers have a Leonard Cohen story to tell. Alas, I have not!!

Leave a Reply

