Theme Songs Through My Ages


I have always loved music and often wished my life was a musical with full orchestral backing. It’s therefore not surprising that I had my varios theme songs as I grew up. Here are some of them.

Age: Precocious Youth
Years : Under 10 years old
Song: The Sound of Silence (Simon & Garfunkel,1964)

Why was this my theme song at this time? I really don’t know. Perhaps I was too young really to think of having a theme song then. However, this song definately had the strongest influence and impact on me. Perhaps I was melancholic by nature. Another song that made an impact on me as I was a little older was “Alone Again Naturally” by Gilbert O’Sullivan. Maybe I was plenty melancholic. I don’t really remember.

“Hello darkness, my old friend
I’ve come to talk with you again…..”

“And in the naked light I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more
People talking without speaking
People hearing without listening
People writing songs that voices never share
And no one dared
Disturb the sound of silence.”

The excerpts above are the parts of the lyrics that resonated most with me. I was comfortable with silence and solitude and I noted that more people were alone than they would admit to themselves. They talk but are neither listened to nor do they listen. Hiding behind facades and masks, no one daring to be honest.

Age: Awkward Teenager
Years : From 11 – 17 years old
Song: Danny’s Song (Anne Murray version,1972)

At this time in my life, I am beginning to notice the female gender and perhaps thoughts turn to love and the search for the end of loneliness in the finding of true love. This is a short song so I’ve included all the lyrics. This song is as country as I get. But clearly, the theme is clear. It is the expectation that love conquers all. Perhaps, one can detect my hippie sympathies here too.

“People smile and tell me I’m the lucky one
And we’ve just begun, I think I’m gonna have a son
He will be like you and me, as free as a dove
Conceived in love, the sun is gonna shine above

Chorus:
And even though we ain’t got money
I’m so in love with ya honey
Everything bring a chain of love
And in the mornin’ when I rise
Bring a tear of joy to my eyes
And tell me everything’s gonna be all right

Love a guy who holds the world in a paper cup
Drink it up, love him and he’ll bring you luck
And if ya find he helps your mind, better take him home
Yeah ‘n’ dontcha live alone, try to earn what lovers own”

Age: Restless Young Man
Years : From 18-21 years old
Song: Total Eclipse of the Heart(Bonnie Tyler,1983)

As I grew out of my teens, I perhaps became more disillusioned. The world was not just black and white. The good and the just did not always win. Love did not conquer all. The world just seemed like a very confused place. I grew a little more angry inside. The theme song for this period was definately more packed with emotion, power and even anger but at its core it is a sad song…..of loss, betrayal hurt and a farewell to innocence. Incidentally, this was written by Jim Steinman. I still love most of his songs till today.

“Turnaround, Every now and then I get a little bit restless and I dream of
something wild
Turnaround, Every now and then I get a little bit helpless and I’m lying
like a child in your arms
Turnaround, Every now and then I get a little bit angry and I know I’ve
got to get out and cry
Turnaround, Every now and then I get a little bit terrified but then I see
the look in your eyes
Turnaround bright eyes, Every now and then I fall apart
Turnaround bright eyes, Every now and then I fall apart”

“I don’t know what to do and I’m always in the dark
We’re living in a powder keg and giving off sparks
I really need you tonight
Forever’s gonna start tonight
Forever’s gonna start tonight”

>

Age: The University Years
Years : From 21-22 years old
Song: All Night Long (Lionel Richie, 1983)

This was my theme song for one simple reason. I used to pull all-nighters trying to study for my exams. There was a time when my night and day routines were practically interchanged. I found that I studied better at night with less distractions. “All night long” was my song and my rally call.

I will carry on with the remaining themes and periods of my life in the next post.

Leave a comment